THE CHâTEAU DE LESTANG
Nestled in the heart of Sancerre’s golden triangle, Château de Lestang is a place steeped in history, perpetuating a long tradition of celebrations and epicurean pleasures. Its century-old vines have been witness to major political events and the lives of many iconic figures.
The first mention of Château de Lestang dates back to 1573. Various owners succeeded one another until the arrival in 1731 of the Rouillé de Marigny family, whose daughter Anne-Marguerite married Jean-Guillaume Hyde de Neuville, a former minister under Louis XVIII, a few years later. Enjoying a calm and peaceful life after Hyde de Neuville’s trying political career, the couple regularly welcomed friends from Paris. François-René de Chateaubriand was certainly their most illustrious guest. The writer loved the beauty of the environment. According to the archives, the huge Lebanese cedar that stands in front of the Château’s facades was planted by the writer himself.
REVIVING AN EXCEPTIONAL HERITAGE
Château de Lestang became the property of Rémy Graillot in 2012. From 2013, Rémy Graillot organised and supervised a major three-year renovation project. The new owner’s highest priority was to ensure that the original plans and appearance of the building were strictly respected. The future of the Château is once again fully in keeping with its historic heritage, in the midst of the Sancerre vineyards.